Everyone has acts they love to do alone that makes them feel good. Especially for me since I have been out of work for a few weeks now, so some feelings of sadness, worthlessness, and depression are surfacing. So lately my guilty pleasure has been watching way too much reality TV, mostly about rich previlege people. Many people won’t be caught dead watching this type of “trash” TV but since I am home more often now I can’t help myself! I have always been a fan of reality TV but in small doses. Now I catch myself engulfed in the day long marathons of Housewives, Bad Girls Club, and Rich Kids of Beverley Hills just to name a few. I also love to watch the outdoor survivoral themed reality shows like Naked & Afraid and Alone. Let’s not forget one of my favs My Cat from Hell which I learn a lot from, being a cat mama. 


These shows take my mind off of my financial worries and stress while making my sides hurt from laughter. Problems that are non-existing to people like me aka “rich people problems” are hilarious to me. Money is no object so it is interesting to see what is a problem in their world. There is a lot of gossiping about each other, complaining about the help/ service, and causing confrontation with each other over selfish reasons. Either these people are just horrible or the people that work for the show are by how brilliantly evil things were edited. I am talking about the Housewives and the Rich Kids of Beverly Hills shows. Although super entertaining and extremely addicting this is my guilty pleasure because it is a little embarrassing to reveal. Watching people because they are wealthy and filled with drama brings me down to earth. It also allows me to laugh and forget about what I am going through. Reminding me that I am so lucky to be living the life I am. Even though I am poor I feel like I have great family and friends who are there, I know how to do things on my own, and I do care about others (not totally obsessed with myself all the time) unlike the filthy rich reality stars. 


The other reality shows are just has good minus the spoiled rich people. Bad Girls Club is insane. I am not sure where they find these wild and crazy girls that they cast, but once you start watching it you can’t stop! They scream, physically fight, and hook up with each other. Young lost girls in their 20’s eager to get their 15 minutes of fame. Naked and Afraid is an extreme version of survive that seems pretty orthentic. They pick real deal survivalist with some sort of primative skills to bring to the table. Plus both partners (man and woman) are naked the whole time while trying to survive in their harsh location for 21 days. 


I wouldn’t be a crazy cat lady if I didn’t watch and love, My Cat from Hell. This is a reality show about cat expert, Jackson helping desperate cat owners tame their bad kitty. This show is on Animal Planet and I love to binge on it. Especially during rainy cold weekends when you don’t feel like leaving the house. This show also teaches little treats on how to handle cats when they get nutty.


Reality TV is my baby right now. These shows pop up more now then ever with every theme you can imagine. There is definitely something for every appetite. When I feel blue I like to watch the privilege rich sobs and laugh at what is considered a huge problem for them. Problems I only dream to have one day. 


Please share you guilty reality TV pleasure. A show that you watch alone with the curtains drawn and popcorn in your lap. Reality TV rocks and I don’t see signs of it going anywhere anytime soon.

